Australia’s SkillSelect Programme is intended to attract highly skilled people who are less than 50 years of age to migrate to Australia.

Most skilled migration visas offer a pathway to permanent residency to successful applicants and so the SkillSelect Programme is an attractive option if you a highly skilled person looking to migrate to Australia permanently. The available visas for you are:

  1. Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189)
  2. Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
  3. Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)
  4. Skilled Regional (Residence) visa (subclass 887)

The SkillSelect Programme has several specific features including:

Points-based system

In order to be eligible for a skilled migration visa, you must have an occupation that is on a particular list of skilled occupations, and you must satisfy the Skilled Migration Points Test for the occupation. The minimum pass mark across all occupations is 60 points, with points awarded based on factors such as your:

If you do not have enough points to meet the pass mark for your occupation independently, you can obtain extra points if you are eligible to be nominated by a State or Territory Government.

If you still do not have enough points, you may be eligible for a provisional skilled migration visa (which is a pathway to a permanent residency visa) if you are eligible to be nominated by a State or Territory Government, or be sponsored by an eligible family member residing in a regional or rural area who is an Australian citizen or permanent resident, or an eligible New Zealand citizen.

Invited to apply – SkillSelect

The SkillSelect Programme is run through the SkillSelect service. Under SkillSelect, you must first lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection. Based on your points test score, the Department will then invite you to apply for a skilled migration visa.

Why choose Craddock Murray Neumann Lawyers

Skilled migration is a drawn-out and complex process, particularly as Australian immigration law often changes.

There are numerous components such as a skills assessment and English language test, and you must lodge your visa application within 60 days of being invited to apply.

You will want to maximise your points score – however in your visa application, you must show evidence that you have achieved the score specified in your EOI, or your visa application will likely be refused.    

Craddock Murray Neumann Lawyers has more than 25 years of experience in immigration law and we have a wealth of experience with the skilled migration process. We can advise you on whether you qualify for a skilled migration visa and provide you with comprehensive assistance throughout the entire process to obtain a skilled migration visa. To schedule a consultation with one of our highly experienced Immigration Lawyers and Registered Migration Agents, please contact us today.

This page provides a summary of the SkillSelect Programme as at September 2016. Australian immigration law is complex and it changes regularly. We strongly recommend that you contact us to discuss the SkillSelect programme and consult with one of our solicitors and Registered Migration Agents.

Let us help you. Phone: +61 2 8268 4000 or Book a conference